The Camera Doesn’t Lie…

January 28, 2009 at 11:42 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )

Okay, no more excuses. I’ve finally attempted to transfer picture from phone to computer, and it actually worked… my technically incompetent brain cannot accept that truth. But here they are, some pictures of how the scaling down of my face has been going over the course of the first three weeks following my orthognathic op. Be nice, now! Your time will come too…

Me posing with a hat, only days away from my surgery.
Just call me Godfather… only days away from having my surgery.

Okay, so it didn’t occur to me until 10 days after my surgery that I should be taking photos… I swear, it didn’t! Well, so I took just the one to commemorate my worst week. I wasn’t exactly feeling what you would call camera-friendly at the time, but I wish I took more now. Seriously, get clickin’, peeps… you’ll never look like this again!

10 days post-op... not looking very happy. I'd smile if I could!

10 days post-op... and not looking very happy. I'd smile if I could!

 I take photos again roughly a week later and am suprised by the change in my appearance. Weeks 2-3 are when you should see the swelling going down quite rapidly with some of the old features returning… it’s slightly more pain-staking after that. I for one can’t wait at this point for my petite schnozz to come back… having tubes stuck up it makes it look all angry and flared.

19 days post-op... ah, that's better! Yay, for facial mobility.

19 days post-op... ah, that's better! Yay, for facial mobility.

The dreaded side view... what's this? Perfect at last!

The dreaded side view... what's this? Perfect alignment at last!

 I’m starting to get over the camera-phobia now… you’ll see a couple of teasing smiles stealing in. This is my new face showing off a bit after all its been put through.
Squinty-eye... this is just how I smile, not a side effect!

Squinty-eye at 20 days post-op... this is just how I smile, not a side effect!

Hmm, would like some cheekbones appearing soon, please...

Hmm, would quite like some cheekbones appearing soon, please... and what's happening with my chin?

 The most recent pictures definitely see me feeling and looking something-but-not-quite-like my old self again. My nose is back in operation and hopefully my chin is forthcoming too. I don’t expect I’ll have super-model cheekbones, but I would quite like something, nonetheless! I’ve put a bit of eye make up on for the first time in four weeks and am quite confident strutting around town, dribbling and slurping like a fool in Chinese restaurants. Y’know, the best recent development is that I’ve stopped compulsively checking myself out in the mirror. I mean, I wouldn’t… y’know… I wouldn’t want people to think I was vain or something! 😀

25 days post-op... happy jaws!

25 days post-op... happy jaws!

 

Still a bit butter-ball, but I'm getting there!

Still a bit butter-ball around the cheeks, but I'm getting there!

4 Comments

  1. Melissa said,

    Hello, I’m looking for help to spread the word, I need a helping hand, in raising money for a surgery I need. Every amount is accepted no matter how small.
    For more information visitt one of the links below.

    http://myjawsurgery.chipin.com
    http://www.myjawsurgery.webs.com

    Thank you!

    p.s. You look great! 😀

  2. realityalwaysbites said,

    Hey there, Melissa. I’ll check out your links. And I wish best of luck in working towards your surgery. It’s an expensive one, particularly for those in the States.

  3. Helen said,

    Heyy! Managed to stumble across your blog online, i really enjoyed reading it! I had the opposite to you done in early Sept, so I can relate to it all! You look great! Hope you’re well,
    Helen x

    • realityalwaysbites said,

      Hey Helen, I’m honoured to hear that you’ve enjoyed reading my posts. 🙂 I wish I had the time to write here more often but 2 years post-orthognathic surgery life has a habit of flying onwards. I wish you all the best with your recovery.
      x

Leave a Reply

